Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Otter Tail County marriage license. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your ceremony date.
A marriage license purchased in Minnesota only allows you to be married in Minnesota and must be applied for at least five (5) daysbefore your wedding date. Your marriage license is valid for six months.
Otter Tail County Marriage License Office
1 Junius Avenue
Fergus Falls, MN 56538
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. / M - F
Closed for holidays Observed by Otter Tail County
Requirements The following is required to apply for a marriage license.
Must be purchased before getting married
A license purchased in Minnesota is only valid in Minnesota and can not be used in any other state.
Must be used within six months or it expires.
Effective August 1, 2009, (MN Statute 517.00) State of Minnesota requires both applicants to appear in person for the processing of the marriage license application. Although it is preferred to have the couple apply together, applicants may appear at different times on the same day. The 5 day waiting period begins after both signatures are secured and filed with Vital Records and Licensing.
Please Note: You generally cannot get married on the same day you apply for a marriage license. If there is an emergency, you can ask the Minnesota county registrar where you applied for a license about getting a waiver of the five-day wait period. You must present your request for a waiver to a judge in the county where you applied for the license. If you have NOT already scheduled a marriage date, contact Court Administration in the county where you applied for your marriage license about how you present your request for a waiver to a judge.
No blood test or physical is required.
In the State of Minnesota there is a five day waiting period (after you apply for your license) before you can come back to pick up your license.
Applicants must be 18 years of age to obtain a license (without parental consent).
Be prepared to present valid identification.
Each applicant must provide: full legal name, address, date and place of birth, telephone numbers and social security numbers (if they have one). U.S Social Security Administration
Must provide after-marriage names and address.
If previously married and now divorced, you must bring your divorce decree with you.
How Much a Marriage License Cost?
The marriage license fee is $40.00 for parties who have completed at least 12 hours of premarital education (see requirements below). The fee for the license is $115.00 if you have not met the premarital education requirements.
Reduced Fee Requirements: In order to qualify for the reduced fee, the parties must submit a signed and dated statement from the person who provided the premarital education confirming that it was received. The premarital education must be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister's designee, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under Minnesota Statutes, section 517.18, or a person authorized to practice marriage and family therapy under Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.33. The education must include the use of premarital inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills.
The statement from the person who provided the premarital education must have the the following wording on their business letterhead stationery, signed and notarized or under church seal or follow the format found in Minnesota Statutes, section 517.08 subd 1b:
I, (name of educator), confirm that (full legal name of both parties) received at least 12 hours of premarital education that included the use of a premarital inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills. I am a licensed or ordained minister, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under Minnesota Statutes, section 517.18, or a person authorized to practice marriage and family therapy under Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.33.
The names of the parties in the educator's statement must be identical to the legal names of the parties as they appear in the marriage license application. This document must be clear and legible and on 8 1/2 X 11 paper.
Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.
Same Sex Marriages: Yes.
Common Law Marriage: No. However, the State does recognize common law marriages that are valid in other states.
Solemnization Authority: Marriages may be solemnized by any of the following:
The officials authorized to solemnize marriages include judges, clerks of court, and licensed ministers, priests or rabbis. In some counties there is a court commissioner who is authorized to officiate at marriage ceremonies. There are also special provisions for marriage between members of the Bahai, Hindu, Quaker and American Indian religious groups.