Marriage license Laws in the state of Michigan, here's what you need to know and what documents to
bring with you before you apply for a Muskegon County marriage license. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your
wedding out of the way about a month before your ceremony date.
It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license
office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.
Muskegon County Marriage License Office
Muskegon County Clerk
990 Terrace Street
Muskegon, MI 49442
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. / M - F
Closed for holidays Observed by Muskegon County
You do not have to be a resident of Muskegon County, but the fee
is $10 more for non-residents.
Residents need to apply for their marriage license in the county in which one of them lives.
Non-residents need to apply for their marriage license in the county where they plan on getting
You need to know the date (mm/dd/yy) and how the last marriage ended.
If previously married, we must see a certified copy of the judgement of divorce or the death certificate, depending on how the marriage ended.
ID Requirement in Muskegon County:
A certified copy of each applicant's birth certificate. If birth certificates are not available, a valid drivers license or state ID can be used with the following information:
city & state of birth of the applicant
father's full name (first, middle and last)
mother's full maiden name
the birthplace of each parent (City & State)
The bride's and the groom's social security numbers are now also required.
Foreign birth certificates need to be translated into English, and be notarized.
Covenant Marriage Option:
There is a three (3) day waiting period in Muskegon County. The waiting period
does not include the application day. The waiting period may be waived by the Muskegon County Clerk for
"good and sufficient cause shown." The license is valid anywhere in the state for
thirty-three (33) days from the date of application.
How Much a Marriage License Cost?
Muskegon County: $20 if you are a
resident of Michigan. $30 for non-residents. Some counties may charge more. Bring cash. Most counties
do not accept checks.
Requirements and fees may vary as each county in Michigan could have their own
requirements. It is important that you verify all information with Muskegon County Clerks marriage license office before making any wedding or travel plans.
No. However, only one of you need
to be present and have all required documentation when applying for a marriage license. You will need
to show a photocopy of the front and back of your partner's driver's license.
Common Law Marriages:
No, unless entered into the relationship prior to January 1,
Same Sex Marriages:
Men and women 18 years of age and older may contract marriage in the State of Michigan without parent's consent. Men and women who are 16 or 17 must have the written consent of one parent or legal guardian who must also appear at the time of application. One party must be a resident of Muskegon County (applying party must be Muskegon County resident) or both must be from out of state.
Back in 1897, secret marriages were approved. If a couple requests a secret
marriage, if permitted by a judge, after the ceremony is solemnized, the officiant returns the
certificate, but the judge may seal the file and allow no publicity about the marriage. What Qualifies One for a Secret Marriage?
Witnesses have to be at least 18 years of age. Some counties follow this new law more strictly than
Marriages may be performed by federal, probate, district, and municipal judges,
and district court magistrates, in their court area; mayors, in their city; County clerks; ministers
and pastors of the gospel, both resident and non-resident. The Michigan Statutes also have a provision that allows for marriages to "be solemnized in
the manner heretofore used and practiced in their respective societies or denominations."