Affordable Wedding Officiants

Marriage Laws United States Kentucky Jefferson County

Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Kentucky marriage license. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your ceremony date.

It is important that you verify all information with the Kentucky marriage license county recorder or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

Jefferson County Marriage License Dept.

Jefferson County Clerk's Office
531 Court Place, Suite 203
Louisville, KY 40202
Phone: 502.574.5700
Phone Renewals: 502.569.3300
8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. / M - F
Closed for holidays Observed by Jefferson County

Find a local Kentucky wedding officiant for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to local KY officiants. You choose the best Kentucky wedding officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

Marriage License Jefferson County

To be legally married in any county within Kentucky, you need a marriage license. Here's how to apply for a marriage license in Jefferson County:

The bride and groom may go to any county in Kentucky to get a marriage license as long as both are 18 years of age or older. Marriage licenses may be used in any Kentucky county and cannot be used anywhere but in Kentucky. Both must be present to obtain a license.

The county clerk issues marriage licenses. Marriage licenses are valid for 30 days, including the date it is issued, and after that time it is invalid. Therefore, if the marriage is not solemnized within the 30-day period, the parties must apply for a new license.

There is no Waiting Period or Blood Test Requirement.

The Application Process:

An application for a marriage license must be made in person by both the man and woman at the Jefferson County Clerk's Office.

In Jefferson County, you may make application in person at any of our seven Branch Locations. Or, you may make an application in person at our Professional License Department, located in Metro Hall, 527 W. Jefferson St., Room 100A.

Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. M - F, except for legal holidays.

Identification is required. Acceptable forms of ID in accordance with the statue and KCCA's recorder's manual include: Drivers License, current state picture ID or passport.
Both parties must be 18 years old or older.

There is a $35.50 fee for a marriage license.

Cash, Check, Visa-MC, Discover and AMEX are accepted payments. There is a 3% transaction convenience fee for credit cards or a $3.95 fee for debit cards by third party processor.

Prohibited and Restricted Marriages:

  1. Marriages between persons who are nearer of kin to each other by blood, than second cousins.

  2. Marriages between first cousins.

  3. Marriages with a person mentally incompetent.

  4. Marriages where there is a husband or wife living, from whom the person marrying has not been divorced.

  5. Marriages not solemnized or contracted in the presence of an authorized person or society.

  6. Same sex marriages.

  7. Common law marriages.

  8. Proxy marriages.

Marriage With a Person Under age 18:

Marriages are prohibited and void when at the time of marriage the person is under 18 years of age, if the marriage is without the consent of:

Persons Getting Married who are Under age 18:

Provide proper identification: Drivers License & Birth Certificate.
Get the Consent to Marriage Form signed and witnessed by the parent or legal guardian.

Marriages of Pregnant Women Under age 18:

Either the male or female, under the age of eighteen, may apply to a district court judge for permission to marry.

Solemnization of Marriage:

  1. Marriages shall be solemnized only by clergy, justices and judges of the Court of Justice; retired justices and judges of the Court of Justice, except those removed for cause or convicted of a felony; county judge/executives; such justices of the peace and fiscal court commissioners as the Governor or the county judge/executive authorizes, and certain religious societies.

  2. At least two persons, in addition to the parties and the person solemnizing the marriage, must be present at every marriage.

  3. There are no residency requirements or licensing requirements applicable to ministers or priests who wish to perform marriages in Kentucky.

  4. A minister or priest, all justices and judges of the Court of Justice, justices of the peace and fiscal court commissioners may perform marriages anywhere in Kentucky.

Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

Kentucky Department for Public Health
Office of Vital Statistics
275 East Main Street - IE-A
Frankfort, KY 40621
Phone: (502) 564-4212
Fax: (502) 227-0032

Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. Check with the Jefferson County Clerk for changes and clarifications in the requirements before you leave home to apply for your marriage license.

To notify us of corrections or additions send an email to

Find local Kentucky wedding officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to Kentucky local wedding officiants. You choose the best officiant.

Ask Questions, Get Answers from Experts ASAP | JustAnswer Ask questions and get answers from verified Experts online. Get an answer when you ask a lawyer, wedding planner, or other Expert on

Order Vital Records Online! certified copies of Birth, Death, Marriage, and Divorce certificates, for events which occurred within the state of Kentucky.

Local Officiants | Local Wedding Officiants | Chicago Wedding Officiants | Illinois Officiants| NJ Officiants

All Ceremonies | New York Wedding Officiants | USA Wedding Officiants | NY Wedding Officiants

Wedding Officiants Directory    Local Officiants Lists!    Ceremony Wedding Officiants

© 2014