Affordable Wedding Officiants

Marriage Laws U.S. Florida Marriage License Miami-Dade County

It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

Miami-Dade County Marriage License Office

Miami-Dade Courthouse Towers
140 West Flagler Street
Suite 1501
Miami, FL 33130
(305) 275-1155
9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. / M - F
Closed for holidays Observed by Miami-Dade County

Getting Married in Miami-Dade County?

Local Florida Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. Submit one form to local Florida Officiants. You choose the best FL Wedding Officiant.

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

How to get a Marriage License in Miami-Dade County

ID Requirement in Miami-Dade County:

Miami-Dade County requires that you have picture ID such as a driver's license and your Social Security card or a valid passport number or I-94 card. You may be asked for a certified copy of your birth certificate.

Previous Marriages:

If you have been previously married, the date of your divorce or date of your spouse's death must be supplied. If the divorce or spouse's death occurred within the past 30 days, a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate is required.

Waiting Period:

There is no waiting period for Miami-Dade County residents who have both completed a state sanctioned marriage preparation course within the last 12 months. There is a three-day waiting period for Florida residents who have not taken the course.

How Much a Marriage License Cost?

$93.50. Many locales do accept credit cards now, but be sure to check with the local county recorder or clerk to make sure.

Marriage Preparation Course:

Effective January, 1999, Miami-Dade County couples will have to consider the consequences of divorce before they can get married. Prospective brides and grooms are now required to read a small booklet which describes situations such as how a court would divide their assets and information about child support payments. The good side of all this is that licenses will be available for less than $93.50 if a couple attends a four-hour course to improve communication, financial and parenting skills before marriage. Court Clerks are allowed by law to waive the three-day waiting period in the event of a "hardship" case.

Other Tests:


Proxy Marriages:


Cousin Marriages:


Common Law Marriages:


Same Sex Marriages:

Yes, same-sex couples can get married in Florida as of January 6, 2015.

Under 18:

If an individual is under 18 years of age, but older than 16 years of age, a marriage license can be obtained with parental consent. If a parent has sole custody or the other parent is dead, the permission of one parent is sufficient. If a person is under the age of 16, the marriage license has to be issued by a county judge, with or without parental permission. If a minor's parents are both deceased and there is not an appointed guardian, he/she may apply for a marriage license. A minor who has been previously married may also apply for a license. A minor who swears that they have a child or are expecting a baby, can apply for a license if the pregnancy has been verified by a written statement from a licensed physician. A county court judge may at his/her discretion issue or not issue a license for them to marry.

Name Change:

Getting a marriage license with your new name on it does not mean your name has automatically changed. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit.


Any ordained or licensed clergy, notary publics, and justices of the peace.


License is valid for sixty (60) days.

Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

Department of Children and Families
Division of Vital Statistics
P. O. Box 210
Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042


State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.

It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.

Ask Questions, Get Answers from Experts ASAP | JustAnswer Ask questions and get answers from verified Experts online. Get an answer when you ask a lawyer, wedding planner, or other Expert on

To notify us of corrections or additions send an email to  Please include the state and county information.

Order Vital Records Online! certified copies of Birth, Death, Marriage, and Divorce certificates, for events which occurred within the state of Florida.

Local Officiants | Local Wedding Officiants | Chicago Wedding Officiants | Illinois Officiants| NJ Officiants

All Ceremonies | New York Wedding Officiants | USA Wedding Officiants | NY Wedding Officiants

Wedding Officiants Directory    Local Officiants Lists!    Ceremony Wedding Officiants

© 2014