Residents and nonresidents are eligible to
apply for a marriage license.
Both parties must be 18 years of age or older
to marry without parental consent. A birth certificate may
be required to show proof of age. EXCEPTION: Persons who
are less than 18 years of age and who are members of the
armed forces of the United States while on active duty will
not be required to provide parental consent. Military papers
will be required to show proof of active duty status.
Persons ages 16 and 17 must submit a parental
consent form signed by both parents with their application.
If one parent is sole custodian of the minor, a divorce
decree stating custody rights or a death certificate must
be presented as well. Alaska law does not permit those under
the age of 16 to marry without a court order.
If either party is under eighteen, contact
the Alaska Bureau of Vital Statistics at (907) 465-3391
for additional instructions before completing the application.
An Alaskan marriage license is valid only
for marriages performed in Alaska or in Alaska State waters.
There is a three (3) business day waiting
period that begins once a mailed or faxed application is
received by the issuing office. This means that you must
wait at least three full business days after the application
is submitted before you can pick up the license and the
marriage ceremony can be performed.
The license is valid for three (3) months
from the date of issuance. The marriage must be performed
before the three-month expiration of the license or the
license will no longer be valid. Refunds and extensions
cannot be granted.
Yes, effective October 17, 2014.
Marriage by Proxy
Proxy marriages (where someone stands in for
the other party) are not permitted in Alaska. The two parties
must be present before the two witnesses and the officiant
in order for the ceremony to be performed.
All divorces must be final and filed with
the courts in the state granted. If either party has been
married previously, the beginning and ending dates of all
previous marriages must be listed on the application. Submitting
a copy of a divorce decree is only required if the divorce
or dissolution occurred less than sixty days prior to applying
for the marriage license.
Marriage License Cost?
The license fee is $60. This fee does not include the cost of a certified copy of the marriage certificate that is issued after the marriage is solemnized.