Marriage Laws » United States
Congratulations on your decision to get married in Wayne County. If you have
specific questions on obtaining a public marriage license in Detroit Michigan, call the Wayne County Clerk's office at 313.224.5520 or 313.224.5515.
- The Wayne County Clerk is at 201 Coleman A. Young Municipal Cntr., 2nd floor, room 201, Detroit, MI 48226
- Phone: 313.224.5520 or 224.5515, FAX: 313.224.5364.
- Hours of operation are Monday through Friday,
8:am to 4:30pm
- The age for getting married is 18 without parental consent and 16 with parental consent. Parents must appear with their identification with 16 or 17 year old applicants. Custodial Parents must appear and bring proof of custody.
- The requirements for premarital counseling for individuals applying for a marriage license has been eliminated. Applicants will be provided with written educational material by the Wayne County Clerk regarding prenatal care and the transmission and prevention of HIV and other sexually transmitted diseases.
- Every Person must present a Certified Copy (WITH SEAL) of their birth certificate with parental information. Birth registrations, hospital certificates, baptismal certificates will not be accepted. All foreign birth certificates must be translated into english by a certified translator to be accepted. A notary other than the translator must notarize the translator's signature.
- It is necessary to obtain a marriage license from the County Clerk of the county in which either applicant resides. Only the Wayne County resident can apply here.
If both parties are non-residents of Michigan, the applicants must apply in the county in which the marriage is to be preformed. At least one of the parties must appear in person to apply.
- You must pay in cash when you apply. The fee is $23.00 if one or both is a Wayne County Resident or $33.00 if both parties are out of state residents. Personal checks are not accepted.
- There is a three-day waiting period after the application before the license may be issued and used. A marriage license is void unless the Marriage is solemnized within 33 days from the date of application. Please do not apply more than 33 days nor less than 3 working days from your wedding date. The License is valid only in the State of Michigan.
© 2002 Hospitality Group Network