Here's what you need to know and what documents to bring with you before you apply for a Orange County marriage license. We recommend getting this legal aspect of your wedding out of the way about a month before your ceremony date.
Requirements vary as each marriage license bureau in California have their own requirements. It is important that you verify all information with your Orange marriage license office or Orange county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.
Orange County Marriage License Office
Orange County Recorder
211 West Santa Ana Boulevard
Santa Ana, CA 92702
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. / M - F
Closed for holidays Observed by Orange County
It is recommended that you call the Orange County or City Clerk's office to see if they suggest setting an appointment.
ID and Orange County Residency Requirements:
Orange County requires a picture id such as Drivers License or other valid identification. Some counties recommend bringing certified copies of your birth certificates.
You do not have to be a resident of Orange County to apply for a marriage license there.
Information you need to know before you start filling out the marriage license application:
Where each of your parents were born (city and state)
The names of your parents including your mother’s maiden name
Confidential License in Orange County:
If you have lived together as a married couple, you can apply for a confidential license. This means there is no public record of your marriage.
You must show proof of divorce, death or annulment. You need to bring a copy of your final divorce decree if you have divorced within the 90 days through past year (varies by county).
Orange County Waiting Period:
There is no waiting period in Orange County.
It will cost you $45.00+ to get married in Orange County. Some California counties charge $84+. The cost of receiving a marriage license varies from county to county and some California counties will only accept cash ... so call to verify what the county charges for a marriage license and don't leave home without cash to pay for the license!
Orange County doesn't require blood tests.
If either the bride or groom is under 18, at least one of the minor’s parents, or legal guardian, must appear with the couple. Certified copies of birth certificates are required. The couple must also schedule an appointment with a counselor and then appear before a California superior court judge.
Yes, proxy marriages are allowed in Orange County but on a very limited basis. Only members of the armed forces who are stationed far away in wars or conflicts can apply for a proxy marriage. The Orange County proxy marriage law allows military personnel to give their power of attorney for someone to stand in for them during their wedding ceremony.
You have to contact the County Recorder's Office in the county in which the marriage occurred to get a certified copy of a marriage license.
Need a certificate processed in a timely manner? USA Vital is your official source for vital records. With secure online ordering, partnerships throughout the country, and quick turnaround, they're the one to trust. When you need birth certificates or marriage, divorce, or death records, USA Vital is your source.